Page 1 of 1
Generic Basic command to jump into a ROM tool
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 8:04 am
by Juergen Frank
Hi!! I'm new and still learning but I read the docu of the Edit programm about installing it in ROM. And the author highlight it already there to start a ROM tool is not easy to do.
So my proposal :
a) ROM list / scanner ... list all available ROMs (default and custom). This means we have to define a specific rom-info block somewhere in the 16K space of the ROMs. Checksum and version info would be nice, too.
b) start a rom code in a specific bank ... prepare to come safely back to basic; and jump to address in start_address field
Rom Info-area (take it as an example):
$00 - $07 - Name
$08 - $09 - ROM version
$0A - $0B - Start address
saludos
Juergen
Generic Basic command to jump into a ROM tool
Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2022 10:58 pm
by Edmond D
Wouldn't the SYS command meet your need?
Generic Basic command to jump into a ROM tool
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2022 6:35 am
by Juergen Frank
Well it might be a workaround ... but in this case you still have to find out the start address of the rom code. And what I don't know what else the sys command is doing to save the actual context (on stack).
In basic we have the mon command which jumps in a debugger/monitor ... so I'm proposing something which is more like this command but for any type of roms which supports a structure similar i proposed.
Generic Basic command to jump into a ROM tool
Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2022 9:13 am
by Stefan
AFAIK it's not possible to SYS into another ROM bank. You need assembly for that.
There's been some discussion on Discord about a BASIC command that addresses this issue. Michael Steil has said that he prefers a separate BANK statement that affects SYS, POKE and PEEK.