Repeat Last Command Function

If you have feature requests, this is the place to post them. Please note your idea may already be something we have already discussed and decided against, or something we are working on privately, and we cannot be held responsible for any similarities in such instance. Whilst we cannot respond to every suggestion, your idea will be read and responded to where possible. Thank you for your input!
Post Reply
Manannan
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:23 am

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by Manannan »


In a modern command line I can repeat the last command I entered by pressing the 'up' button.



If there enough memory on the Commander for this? 



Would you consider adding it to BASIC?

User avatar
desertfish
Posts: 1095
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2020 8:27 pm
Location: Netherlands

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by desertfish »


This feature would be incompatible with the screen editor that is used to enter and edit basic programs.

kelli217
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:27 pm

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by kelli217 »


If you execute a command in immediate mode that doesn't cause the command itself to no longer be on the screen, you can just press the up-arrow key to get to that line again, and press Enter, and it will run again.

Manannan
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:23 am

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by Manannan »


I have to ask a really dumb question, I couldn't easily find the answer in the manual sorry.

I typed a simple print statement into the BASIC editor, pressed the up arrow to return to my print statement and pressed enter, nothing happened. 



What am I doing wrong?

User avatar
JimmyDansbo
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:10 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by JimmyDansbo »



On 10/17/2022 at 9:30 AM, Manannan said:




I typed a simple print statement into the BASIC editor, pressed the up arrow to return to my print statement and pressed enter, nothing happened. 



Maybe the exact same thing happened again and that is why it looks like nothing happened?

It may help if you show ud the print statement

Visit my Github repo
or my personal site with CX16/C64/6502 related information.
Feel free to contact me regarding any of my projects or even about meeting up somewhere near Denmark
kelli217
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:27 pm

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by kelli217 »


What Jimmy said. Make a slight change to the PRINT statement before you hit Enter the second time. Or print something like a system variable that constantly changes, such as TI (the system timer in 60ths of a second since boot).

 

Manannan
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2022 7:23 am

Repeat Last Command Function

Post by Manannan »


You guys were right, I just didn't understand how things worked.



I wrote this into the BASIC editor:

LET X = 0;

<ENTER>

X = X + 1

<ENTER>

<UP ARROW>

<UP ARROW>

<UP ARROW>

<ENTER>

PRINT X;

 

The result is 2. 



Thanks. It was clear I didn't properly know how to use the editor. 

Post Reply